What’s Goin’ On

Country Strong

Willie Nelson turns to classics on upcoming LP


Willie Nelson's hankering for classic country songs is on full display on his new album, "Willie Nelson and the Boys," available October 20.

Seven of the disc's 12 tracks were written by the legendary Hank Williams, including "Move It On Over," "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" and "Your Cheatin' Heart."

Three other songs were written back in the day by another trio of Hanks in the Country Music Hall of Fame: Hank Cochran ("Can I Sleep In Your Arms"), Hank Locklin ("Send Me the Pillow You Dream On") and Hank Snow ("I'm Movin' On).

Nelson also covers a non-Hank tune, Alyssa Miller's "My Tears Fall," as well as one of his own compositions, the title track of his 1994 album "Healing Hands of Time."

"Willie and the Boys," culled from studio sessions for Nelson's 2011 album "Heroes," features Nelson's sons, Lukas and Mikah.

The new album is the second volume in the "Willie's Stash" series of archival releases personally curated by Nelson. The first volume, "December Day," was issued in 2014 and featured Bobbie Nelson, Willie's sister.

Nelson's previous album, "God's Problem Child," came out on the eve of his 84th birthday in April. It debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Country chart, the second consecutive Nelson album to achieve that feat. His collaboration with Merle Haggard, "Django and Jimmie," topped the country album chart when it premiered less than a year earlier in June 2015.

Photo: Getty Images