What’s Goin’ On

And the Nominees Are...

Rock Hall of Fame unveils 2019 shortlist

Elton John AIDS Foundation's Benefit, New York, USA - 15 Oct 2012

Stevie Nicks, Todd Rundgren and Devo are among the artists nominated today for the first time for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next year.

The three hitmakers who shot to stardom in the 1970s are joined by fellow rookie nominees Def Leppard, John Prine and Roxy Music as well as two bands that were nominated for the first time last year, Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine.

Also in the running are seven acts who have been in the running two or more times but have yet to get in the door of the Cleveland institution established in 1983: the Cure, Janet Jackson, Kraftwerk, LL Cool J, MC5, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, and the Zombies.

Eligible artists had to release their first single or album in 1993 or earlier.

Fans can visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's website to vote once a day for up to five of the 15 nominees. The fan favorites will then be added to the votes cast more by than 1,000 artists and music industry executives, historians and writers to elect the winners.

The Class of 2019 will be announced in December. The induction ceremony will be staged March 29, 2019, at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn and aired at a later date on HBO.

Last year's honorees were Bon Jovi, the Cars, Dire Straits, the Moody Blues, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

Photo by Charles Sykes/Invision/AP/REX/Shutterstock